## **COUNTY SOCIAL SERVICES JANUARY 2016 BOARD MINUTES**

The January County Social Services Governing Board meeting was held Wednesday January 27, 2016 at the West Fork Services main office in Humboldt County at 21 North Taft Street Humboldt, Iowa.

Dennis Koenig, Allamakee, Ron McCartney, Clayton, Phil Dougherty, Cerro Gordo, Rick Holthaus, Chickasaw, Bev Juhl, Emmet, Roy Schwickerath, Floyd, Jim Ross, Grundy, Ron Sweeres, Hancock, Jerry Haverly, Hancock, Roger Tjarks, Kossuth, Joel Voaklander, Mitchell, Clarence Siepker, Pocahontas, Larry Vest, Tama, Clark Fletcher, Webster, Bill Jensvold, Winnebago, Floyd Ashbacher, Winneshiek, Ken Abrams, Worth.

Teleconference/Phone: Mark Kubik, Howard, Karl Helgevold, Wright, Jeanine Tellin, Fayette, Sue Morse, Karen Dowell, Monica Paulsen, Jodi Draper, Stacy Olson, Jean Gage, Simone Schmidt, Jean McAleer, Jen Sheenhan, Gerri McCracken.

Guest: Bob Lincoln, Sandy Mireles, Kathy Erickson, Gene Schrandt, Mary Schrandt, Pam Moldovan, Doug Wilson, Don Besch, Sonya Middleton, Pat Tate, Chalsea Carroll, Ken Hays, Ashley Lutgen, Lisa Peterson, Cassie Winters. Carl Matthes, Felicia Bates, Peggy Rice, Andy Eastwood, Dona Nielsen.

- 1. Jerry Haverly, Humboldt called County Social Services Board Meeting to order.
- 2. Introductions and welcome by host. Supervisor Jerry Haverly.
- 3. Under the CSS By-Laws the Executive Committee members rotate up and a new Secretary/Treasurer is elected while the Chair moves off the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee unanimously placed into nomination Supervisor Ken Abrams to be the next Secretary/ Treasurer. To confirm this action a motion by was made by Larry Vest, Tama and second by Floyd Ashbacher, Winneshiek to appoint Jerry Haverly, Chair Roy Schwickerath, Vice-Chair and Ken Abrams Secretary/Treasurer effective upon action. Motion carried.
- 4. Motion by Clark Fletcher, Webster and second by Roger Tjarks, Kossuth to approve today's agenda and the minutes of November 25, 2015. Motion carried.
- 5. There was no provider report.
- 6. Gene Schrandt gave an update that individuals are waiting to see what the impact of the implementation of Managed Care Organizations (MCO's) will have.
- Motion by Ken Abrams, Worth and second by Phil Dougherty, Cerro Gordo to authorize the Chair to sign a letter of support for Opportunity Village's plan for a five bed home at 2300 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue South in Clear Lake. Motion carried.
- 8. Motion by Ron Sweeres, Hancock and second by Roger Tjarks, Kossuth upon request that that Board members provide Social Security numbers and date of birth to the three managed care organizations as part of the duties of the governing board for credentialing requirements with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid. Roll Call vote: Dennis Koenig, nay, Ron McCartney, nay, Phil Dougherty, nay, Rick Holthaus, yes, Bev Juhl, yes, Jeanine Tellin, nay, Roy Schwickerath, yes, Jim Ross, nay, Ron Sweeres, yes, Mark Kubik, nay, Jerry Haverly, yes, Roger Tjarks, yes, Joel Voaklander, yes, Larry Vest, yes, Clark Fletcher, yes, Bill Jensvold, yes, Floyd Ashbacher, nay, Ken Abrams, yes, Karl Helgevold, yes. Motion carried. 12 yes to 8 nay.
- 9. Motion by Joel Voaklander, Mitchell and second by Bev Juhl, Emmet to accept the proposed Fiscal Year 2017 budget for the development for the FY2017 Annual Budget and Service Plan due by April 1<sup>st</sup>. Motion carried.
- Motion by Rick Holthaus, Chickasaw and second by Roy Schwickerath, Floyd, to approve a Recovery Institute Director reducing the service coordinators from Black Hawk County from 3 to 2. Motion carried.
- 11. Action on the lease agreement with the former Youth Shelter building was tabled.

- 12. Motion by Ken Abrams, Worth and second by Clark Fletcher, Webster to support the colocation of CSS staff with NEI3A with the terms to be negotiated by the Directors for the respective governing board's review and approval. Motion carried.
- 13. Motion by Larry Vest, Tama and second by Roy Schwickerath, Floyd to accept the Human Resource committee's recommendation to eliminate the position of Grundy/Tama Coordinator and replace with two positions; Grundy County Coordinator of Disability Services and Tama County Coordinator of Disability Services. Motion carried.
- 14. Motion by Clark Fletcher, Webster and Ron Sweeres, Hancock to approve the appointment of Libby Reekers to the Legislative Review Committee and reimbursement of all associated cost to participate. Motion carried.
- 15. Action on the RFP for the Assertive Community Treatment Team, in Waterloo was tabled.
- Motion by Roy Schwickerath, Floyd and second Ron McCartney, Clayton to launch 24/7/365 tele psychiatry coverage for any interested rural hospital within the CSS region. Motion carried.
- 17. Motion by Ken Abrams and second by Dennis Koenig, to authorize ISTART registration and travel to the annual conference not to exceed \$5,500. Motion carried.
- 18. Motion by Ron Sweeres, Hancock and second by Rick Holthaus to approve the financial report as submitted. Motion carried.
- 19. Motion by Joel Voaklander, Mitchell and second by Ken Abrams to approve the claim runs in the amounts of \$2,071,315.87 from 12/1/15-1/12/16. Motion carried.
- 20. Motion by Roger Tjarks, Kossuth and second by Bev Juhl, Emmett to approve the provider rate requests. Motion carried.
- 21. Motion by Clark Fletcher and second by Joel Voaklander, Mitchell to authorize the Chair to sign provider agreements with:
  - a. Integrated Telehealth Partners
  - b. Resource for Human Development
- 22. Motion by Jim Ross, Grundy and second by Phil Dougherty, Cerro Gordo to authorize the following Exception to Policies:
  - a. Client #47341 reduce copay for Community Support Services (\$131.00 monthly budget impact)
  - b. Client #51320 reduce copay for medication injection (\$51.00 maximum monthly budget impact)
  - c. Client #216580 reduce copay for outpatient therapy (\$35.00 per visit budget impact)

Motion carried.

- 23. Administrator's Updates:
- 24. Meeting adjourned. Next meeting will be Wed, February 24, 2016 in Kossuth County at the Agriculture Museum, Kossuth County Fairground, 700 E. Fair, Algona, Iowa.