For Crisis 24/7/365 • Dial 988 Suicide & Crisis Line • Call 855-581-8111 • Text 855-895-8398 Visit
Allamakee · Black Hawk · Butler · Chickasaw · Clayton · Fayette · Floyd · Grundy · Howard · Mitchell · Tama · Winneshiek Proudly serving 12 northeast Iowa counties
The intent of County Social Services (CSS) is to make funding and service availability more equitable across county lines.

January 1, 2009 five counties came together to further advance the vision of creating a more equitable service system, while retaining the principle of local control. 

Since that time County Social Services is now a consortium of 12 counties:  Allamakee, Black Hawk, Butler, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, Grundy, Howard, Mitchell, Tama, and Winneshiek counties.  CSS will serve tax payers and people with disabilities in the most effective and efficient manner possible.

Vision Statement

County Social Services assists individuals by navigating high-quality services and supports to meet their needs.

Mission Statement

County Social Services empowers individuals to create better lives for themselves through community partnerships.

County Social Services Goals


This page was printed from the County Social Services on July 19, 2024. For the latest information, visit